top of page

Sessions Help Guide

What are sessions?

Sessions are reports that share data from a shift or an event. Using sessions allows you to record insights and transaction volume. Sessions also ensure that items are closed out at the end of your shift and do not carry over into the following day. 

Creating a session

1 Label.png

At the beginning of each shift or event, you will want to open a session to record the day's transactions.

2 Label.png

We have designed sessions to be quick and painless for the team. The first time you scan a tag or start a check-in, you will be prompted to open a session automatically. 

3 Label.png

If you have multiple devices at your location and they have yet to open, you will be prompted to open your additional devices as they come online. 

Note: You must have internet access to open your device. 

Graphic 4.png

If you plan to use the device offline, you must first open it while connected to the internet or cell service. This can be done by going to settings and tapping “Open Device”  If there is not an open session for the location already, opening the device will automatically open a session for that location.

First Frame.png

Closing a session

1 Label.png

Closing a session allows the app to finalize all transactions across all iOS devices for your location. It then generates a report within your admin dashboard showing important details like the number of transactions, total revenue earned, and if there are any outstanding items. If each of your kiosks is not closed at the end of the night, you will not be able to see your shift report.

2 Label.png

To close a session, you must first close all of your devices. This ensures anything that might have been checked offline has been synced and will be properly logged. To close your device, go to the sessions tab in the settings menu.  Tap “Close Device” 

ezgif.com-gif-maker (3).gif
ezgif.com-gif-maker (3).gif

Next, reconcile all items

1 Label.png

You cannot close a session until all open items have been marked as closed, outstanding, or disputed. This ensures that nothing gets left in limbo at the end of your shift.

2 Label.png

There are three categories all items must fall into:

Close - The item was returned but was not marked as closed. 

Outstanding - The item was left behind. Marking the item as outstanding will send a text message, alerting the customer to make arrangements to pick up their item at a later time. 

Dispute - An item was returned, but the owner of the item did not receive it.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (8).gif

Closing all devices

1 Label.png

When you tap  “Close Session,” you should see a screen like the one below.  

The device is now reaching out to all the other iOS devices (if applicable) that are open and requesting that they close. If there are multiple devices at your location, they will appear with their status on the lower right-hand side of your screen. This is done in case someone on another device is not quite ready to shut down.

Note: Only devices with internet connectivity and the Chex app open will be able to close remotely. They will have 1 minute to say “Yes” or “No,” and then the device will be closed automatically.

Security Reminder: Everyone loves fiddling with iPads. It is important to close your kiosks when staff is not around to prevent customers from messing up your inventory or unnecessarily checking out other customers' personal items.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (3).gif

Device closure request

1 Label.png

If someone on another device is trying to close out a session, you will see this message.  

 

Tap “No” to continue checking items. 

Tap “Yes” to force the session to close, which will also close the device you are on.

Sesh Mock 1.png
2 Label.png

If someone on another device is trying to close out a session, you will see this message.  

 

Tap “No” to continue checking items. 

Tap “Yes” to force the session to close, which will also close the device you are on.

Sesh Mock 2.png
3 Label.png

Note: If one of the devices in a session does not have a connection to the internet, you will need to bring it back online to close out the session properly. 

Sesh Mock 3.png

Still need help?

Send us an email at support@chexology.com if you need support.

Sessions in dashboard

1 Label.png

Once a session has been closed, the information from that shift will be displayed inside your Admin Dashboard. These session reports (or shift reports) detail information like the number of items and total revenue for the shift.

Dashboard Mock.png

That’s it! You now know how to open and close a session. 


If you have any questions, please feel free to review the above steps or connect with a member of our Client Success Team at help@chexology.com. We are always happy to help.

bottom of page